I want it that way

In the last note, it said I love music because it says the words I can’t find and for the most part that is true but sometimes with a song comes feelings. Feelings of past times, past places, past people. For example, Michael Buble’s song, save the  last dance for me, reminds me of Maui and my honeymoon, Jason Mraz with Colbie Calliat’s Lucky, reminds me of Alaska, etc. etc. Recently, I felt I needed new songs to listen to in the car, so I picked very random slow songs, and for some weird unexplained reason I picked this song to put on the cd:

“I Want It That Way”

Yeah

You are my fire
The one desire
Believe when I say
I want it that way

But we are two worlds apart
Can’t reach to your heart
When you say
That I want it that way

[Chorus:]
Tell me why
Ain’t nothin’ but a heartache
Tell me why
Ain’t nothin’ but a mistake
Tell me why
I never wanna hear you say
I want it that way

Am I your fire
Your one desire
Yes I know it’s too late
But I want it that way

[Chorus]

Now I can see that we’re falling apart
From the way that it used to be, yeah
No matter the distance
I want you to know
That deep down inside of me…

You are my fire
The one desire
You are
You are, you are, you are

Don’t wanna hear you say
Ain’t nothin’ but a heartache
Ain’t nothin’ but a mistake
(Don’t wanna hear you say)
I never wanna hear you say
I want it that way

Tell me why
Ain’t nothin’ but a heartache
Tell me why
Ain’t nothin but a mistake
Tell me why
I never wanna hear you say
(Don’t wanna hear you say it)
I want it that way
I want it that way

Yes, that’s right people, Backstreets back all right. Naw, I’m kidding, but I did put this song on the cd without thinking and when it came on, I started to cry. This song, without a doubt, reminds me of my sweet bff. I miss her, more than anything. And where we stay in contact, (in fact we pretty talk everyday on the phone and we email each other and write each other snail mail) it’s just not the same. We share the same loves. Shopping, eating, watching the flight of the conchords and southpark, (though that last one is more me than her, though she’s the one that got me hooked),the pacific northwest, dancing, music, God, deep conversations about anything and everything, and you can’t always do those things over the phone or in an email. I miss her presence. Though I am so glad that she is at nursing school even though it’s across the country, I am counting the days until her return. Rachel, I might not be able to write you poem like you did for me, but the backstreet boys say it best: “I want it that way” Loves

This entry was posted in way too deep. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

