to my body

Dear body,

I know we have love/hate relationship. It’s my fault. I was mean. When I was in elementary school, I was hard on you. I cut you up, broke your bones, sprained your ligaments, and all the other things that happen in childhood. I’m sorry. Then middle school happen and I loved you. You might have been a little “chubby” (you weren’t) but you were beautiful. You were the fantasy of many middle school boys, which led me to do horrible things to you. I’m sorry I starved you. I’m sorry for when I did eat; I didn’t let you enjoy it by throwing it up. I apologize. And then high school happen. Oh how I hated you. But it wasn’t really hate, I just didn’t appreciate you. You are strong. I never get sick and I heal fast. Those things should be enough, I know that now. Since high school, it has been a roller coaster. At first I was good to you, I ate the healthy foods that fueled you, I exercised and kept my weight down. You looked good, in fact you tempted our now husband many of times. And then I don’t know what happened. I slacked I stopped thinking of you and started thinking of only myself. And now, I have done the meanest thing one can do to her body. I’m pregnant. And I know it’s hard on you. Things are moving and shifting. It’s painful and tiring. But body you should know, I appreciate you. You keep my baby safe. You give it things you need to make sure it’s healthy. You are a true friend. From now on, I promise, I will treat you better. You’re the only body I have and for both our sakes, I will love you.

“Oh this is not the way that it should end,

It’s the way it should begin,

It’s the way it should begin again,

No I never wanna fall apart

Never wanna break your heart

Never wanna let you break my own

Yes I know we’ve said a lot of things

That we probably didn’t mean

But it’s not to late to take them back

So before you say you’re gonna go

I should probably let you know

That I never knew what I had

But I know it now

I wish I would’ve known before, how good we were

Is it too late to come back?

Or is it really over?”

Begin again, by colbie caillat

This entry was posted in baby appleseed. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to to my body

  1. rachel anna says:

    you are cute. and sneaky. i didn’t know of your adorable blog. keep writing, please!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

